A Few of my Favourite Things

I’m quite in love with two things beginning with C at the moment. One is coconut oil, a craze for which has swept madly over the entire planet recently! I’m not ashamed to join the brethren of coconut oil groupies though – I’m proud. The stuff is damn good! It goes in my smoothies, in my stir fries, in my hair, on my skin, on my lips, in my vegan ice-cream and into my baking. I’m wild for it!

I had wanted to try using it in my hair for ages but wasn’t sure exactly how to go about it until my friend showed me the other day. I’ll break it down here in case anybody else had the same problem as me!

Okay, so first either melt around 3 tablespoons of the oil on the hob gently until it loses form, or just rub it between your palms, it’ll melt fine by the heat that generates. Just be sure to keep a bowl under your hands to catch the drips! Don’t want to waste any.
When you have a bowl full of coconut magic, you can either carefully tip it over your hair and then massage it in (be sure to have a towel round your shoulders) or do what I do which is scoop it up carefully and smooth it into hair from the roots down, massaging gently when it’s all in.
Your hair will look greasy and disgusting so do this at night! Then, wrap your hair in a towel, old shirt, or large piece of cling film and get a good nights sleep.
In the morning, wash the stuff out thoroughly and prepare to be amazed by how glorious your hair looks!

The other C substance I’m cuckoo for is (NOT an illegal drug, as my friend just suggested after a peek at this post) – No. It’s cinnamon!

My friends and family find it so odd that I’m enamoured with cinnamon as it tends to be linked to very unhealthy things like cinnamon buns/swirls, cakes, cookies, etc. Surprise though! It’s actually the sugar, eggs, milk, blah blah blah that make those things fattening and unhealthy, not the cinnamon. In fact, this christmassy spice has tonnes of health benefits.

Cinnamon’s really good for calcium levels, which is so important for us vegans as we don’t have milk, and it’s also incredibly high in manganese and fibre! Manganese is important to keep our brain and body functioning correctly, and fibre improves digestive health whilst also going towards preventing heart disease, some cancers, weight gain and diabetes.

So go get your cinnamon fix!

Leave a Reply

