Spanish Ladies

So, I have not posted for a while. I shall now divulge the reason. Pretend you didn’t already guess from the title of this post.
I’VE BEEN IN SPAIN!

Let me tell you now, Spain is amazing. Truly, utterly amazing! I loved it. I soaked up the sun like a sponge along with the culture, which my friend and I embraced wholeheartedly. We had siesta’s and everything! And ate dinner past ten pm! It was fabulous.

The most difficult thing to be honest was maintaining my vegan diet. Spanish food is decidedly un-vegan. If it doesn’t have meat, there’s fish, and if not fish, there is undoubtedly cheese. And sometimes they don’t seem happy about taking the cheese out on request. I was met with many blank looks when I asked! Oh well though, I got by, and I didn’t digress from my veganism once, about which I am very proud!

A question I get asked a lot is how I get enough energy from my food. (I have a somewhat manic lifestyle). It’s a question I don’t really understand however, as to my way of thinking I get natural energy from everything I eat! And of COURSE I’m going to ultimately feel better after a bowl of quinoa, hoummous and avocado, than after a cheeseburger and chips.

For example, the day I travelled to Spain, I had a cup of nettle tea and a bowl of granola with almond milk, and it saw me through without a hitch! I just took some raw cashews to snack on, and I was raring to go!

So good for you!

So good for you!

Cashews have an insane amount of health benefits; such a superfood. From fighting cancer to maintaining a healthy heart, I have a lot of love for them. They’re also lower in fat than most nuts, which is a plus, and what they do have is considered good fat.
I have to say, I am a fan of Tapas in general! Lots of vegetables 🙂 In particular I loved the Spinach and Chickpea stew option, and the roasted vegetables in olive oil. They were a staple to my trip, and I’m planning on recreating the stew! I also had fried aubergine cakes which were DELICIOUS!

It’s difficult to maintain health sometimes on holiday, but this trip wasn’t a problem for me (apart from a little too much tinto de verano!) as I went running every other morning and kept to my mostly plant based diet.

Mostly for breakfast it was delicious fresh fruit and fresh passion fruit juice, which was a treat. Then tapas at around 4 pm, followed by dinner whenever we felt like it.

My friend is definitely NOT vegan, but actually the best vegan meal I ate there was at a steakhouse she made me go into! I had a cous-cous dish with roasted veg and a beautiful honey sauce that was to die for! Steaming hot and so wonderful! Another dish I must recreate.

In my next post a recipe will follow, actually, as well as some others I picked up, and lots of pictures!

Over x

Leave a Reply

